What Are T Levels?

What Are T Levels?

Posted in News on Sep 14, 2020 by

University Finder

Launching today, T Levels are a new post-16 qualification available for UK students after GCSEs. The courses will last two years and combine classroom learning and on the job experience and are the equivalent of three A-Levels.

“T Levels provide a high-quality, technical alternative to A levels ensuring thousands of people across the country have the skills we need to compete globally – a vital part of our modern industrial strategy” - Theresa May

The aim of T Levels is to ensure students have the knowledge and experience needed to progress in their chosen industry into employment, university, or a higher/degree apprenticeship.

How do T Levels work?

T Levels require a mix of classroom study and on the job training and experience. The courses will include:

  • A technical qualification, which will include; core theory – the concepts and skills needed for that industry and specialist skills and knowledge needed for that occupation.
  • An industry placement with an employer for at least 315 hours (around 45 days).
  • A minimum standard in maths and English if students have not already achieved them.

T Levels include an industry placement for a minimum of 315 hours (around 45 days) developing the practical and technical skills required for the occupation.

What are T Levels Worth?

T Levels are the equivalent of three A Level grades. Students will receive a nationally recognised certificate with the grading of distinction *, distinction, merit, pass (C or above on the core) or pass (D or E on the core).

T Level Results as A Levels:

  • Distinction* = AAA *
  • Distinction = AAA
  • Merit = BBB
  • Pass (C or above on the core) = CCC
  • Pass (D or E on the core) = DDD

Calculate T Level UCAS points here.

What areas are T Levels available in?

From 2020 T Levels will be available in three areas:

  • Digital production, design and development (digital industry)
  • Design, surveying and planning (construction industry)
  • Education (education and childcare industry)

From 2021, 22 more courses will be available in areas such as:

  • Finance
  • Engineering & manufacturing
  • Creative industries
  • Hair & beauty
  • Healthcare science
  • Science

For the full list of areas see Gov UK.

Find out more about T Levels at Gov UK.

By Clarissa Ducie